Branded Vans and Food Trucks are Trending Offline….

Nike Branded Truck

Let’s face it – we all like something free in life. I know for one thing, if I’m at an event and a promotional girl or guy walks past handing out free products or I see a parked car handing out goodies I unashamedly rush up to see what I can get my hands on. Only once I’ve pushed through the wild mob and have ripped out the bits and pieces from my goodie bag – unlike the average consumer, I then evaluate what value these giveaways have created for the brands they are promoting.

If the point is to associate your brand with an event, a mere product giveaway can suffice. Red Bull are perhaps leaders in this field with their Red Bull cars and promo girls donning futuristic Red Bull backpacks handing out free energy drinks. Do this at enough extreme sporting or music festivals and the connection is made – Red Bull is synonymous with ‘cool’ events, full of vibrancy and alcohol (oh wait was that second link supposed to be subliminal??).

However, beyond merely making a few people happy and selling a few extra products at an event or over the course of a year – brands have now realised there is an opportunity to make these giveaways more ‘social’ and increase Global brand advocacy in the process. By Global – I mean that once your brand is talked about Online – there’s no limit to whom it could potentially influence. Obviously certain brands or products may not be sold in your country – but if you’re ever travelling around and recall something mentioned or seen Online, don’t underestimate the power a few Tweets or PR ripples can make to a brand’s definitive reach.

Anyway, the point of this post is really just to share what Nike is now doing – I don’t think I need to explain in detail the concept if you watch the video. A Nike branded truck and giveways; with the only new innovation to these new promotional creations being that they can travel far and wide – beyond the walls of festivals and capital cities. I’ll be interested to see how Nike really amplify the conversation Online beyond the physical location – hopefully they’re handing out vouchers with codes or challenging their audience to somehow connect and interact in a social medium. Just for reference I’ve also inserted the van Coke took around Brasil last year – as I thought the ‘vending machine’ trick was conversational and quite cute.

Leave a Reply

